Skip to main content


What is the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE)?

Cambridge IGCSE is the most sought-agter international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds. It is recognized by leading universities and employers worldwide, and is an international passport to progression and success.The course was developed over 25 years ago, and it has been tried, tested and trusted by schools in India & worldwide.


The Cambridge IGCSE curriculum offers a variety of routes for learners with a wide range of abilities, including those whose first language is not English. We help schools build a curriculum around their specific needs. Starting from a foundation of core subjects, it is easy to add breadth and cross-curricular perspectives to it while remaining faithful to the foundation of core subjects. Encouraging learners to engage with a variety of subjects, and make connections between them, is fundamental to our approach.

For learners, Cambridge IGCSE helps improve performance by developing skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving. It is the perfect springboard to advanced study.

There are over 70 subjects available at Cambridge IGCSE, including 30 languages, and schools can offer them in any combination. Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • Subject content
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to unfamiliar situations
  • Intellectual enquiry
  • Flexibility and responsiveness to change
  • Working and communicating in English
  • Influencing outcomes
  • Cultural awareness

Schools worldwide have been involved in the development of Cambridge IGCSE. The syllabuses are international in outlook, but retain a local relevance. They have been created specifically for an international student body and avoid cultural bias.

IGCSE provides a broad study programme by drawing subjects from 5 areas:

  • Languages
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Creative, Technical and Vocational

A student who takes examinations in a minimum of 5 subjects qualifies for the IGCSE certificate. The ICE Certification (International Certificate of Education) is awarded by the CIE for the recommended combination of subjects in the IGCSE examinations. At Indus, all students are required to prepare for this certification.

Cambridge International Certificate of Education (ICE) is a group award of the IGCSE that requires the study of subjects drawn from 5 different IGCSE subject groups. A student must take at least 7 subjects, including 2 languages and 1 subject from each of the other subject groups given below.

Subjects offered under each group at Indus are:

Group 1: Languages

First Language - English, Korean*, Thai*, Mandarin*, Japanese*
Second Language - English, Hindi, Korean, Thai, Japanese and Mandarin
Foreign Language - French, Spanish


Group 2: Humanities and Social Sciences:

Economics, Geography, History and English Literature


Group 3: Sciences:

Physics, Chemistry, and Biology


Group 4: Mathematics

International Mathematics and Additional Mathematics


Group 5: Creative, Technical and Vocational

Art & Design, Business Studies, Information and Communication Technology, Physical Education, Music, Enterprise, Computer Science




Cambridge IGCSE assessment takes place at the end of the course and can include written, oral, coursework and practical assessment. This broadens opportunities for students to demonstrate their learning, particularly when their first language is not English. In many subjects there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making Cambridge IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities.

Grades are benchmarked using eight internationally recognized grades, A* to G, which have clear guidelines to explain the standard of achievement for each grade. The ICE result is published in 3 levels:

  • Distinction – Grade A or above in 5 subjects and Grade C or above in 2 subjects
  • Merit - Grade C or above in 5 subjects and Grade F or above in 2 subjects
  • Pass – Grade G or above in at least 7 subjects

We recommend that our students take nine subjects to enhance their chances of achieving the best results.

Cambridge IGCSE examination sessions occur thrice a year, in November, March and June. Results are issued in January, May and August. At Indus the examinations are held in the March and June series only.


To know more about IGCSE, click here